Best in world Otago Pinot

Best in show… Andy Anderson’s Takapoto Pinot Noir from Central Otago has won Best Pinot Trophy in the World for the second year in a row…

If winning ‘best Pinot Noir Trophy in the world’ two years running isn’t enough to give any winemaker the warm fuzzies, then being judged by over 400 wine professionals against wines from 90 countries at one of the world’s oldest wine shows most definitely is. And winemaker Andy Anderson is as humble about his trophies as he is a talented winemaker. 

The winning wine is the 2014 Takapoto Central Otago Pinot Noir, made with grapes from one of the coolest climate areas of Otago, Gibbston Valley.

The Cox’s Vineyard was planted in 1999 on its own roots, which means the vines are ungrafted to American rootstock – standard procedure  to prevent destruction by the vine aphid, phylloxera. And the wine was matured in a combo of 66% new French oak and 34% one year old French oak.

Anderson was one of the first graduates of Lincoln University’s Bachelor of Viticulture and Oenology in 1998. He has also made wine in the Barossa Valley and  Spain.

The International Wine & Spirits Competition (IWSC) is now in its 50th year and was founded by wine chemist Anton Massel as the Club Oenologique. Its name was changed to the IWSC in 1978.

More to come on the latest win.

Watch this space.


The winner is…

2014 Takapoto Bannockburn Single Vineyard Pinot Noir $70, 13.5% ABV

Made from the Cox’s Vineyard in Gibbston Valley from Pinot Noir clones 113, 115 and 5, matured in 66% new French oak and 34% one year old French oak.

Available from Glengarry’s in Auckland, Vino Fino in Christchurch, Hamilton Beer & Wine Company, The Winery Queenstown, Arrowtown Wines and Cambridge Fine Wines.

Author: Joelle Thomson

I am a wine writer, author and educator... first bitten by a big buttery Chardonnay on a dark and stormy night in the 1980s and there was no turning back... Follow my tastings and join some too on this new site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *